All the definitions and information regarding sex offender laws in the state of New York are covered in the Sex Offender Registration Act. They cover what constitutes a sex offender and the distinctions between the different types of offenses. Further, it contains information about what happens when a sexual offender is discharged, how they register their identity, how they can relocate and how their behavior is reviewed and judged. This article will cover the basics of sex offender laws in New York.
The state of New York defines a sexual offender as an individual who commits and is convicted of a sexual offense. A sexual offense is defined in several provisions of the law including many sexually motivated acts. Plus, a sexual offense may even include acts such as kidnapping when the victim is younger than seventeen years old. Then, there are offenses which are referred to as sexually violent acts. The sex offender is looked after by the law enforcement agency in the village, town or city where they live. Once the offender is discharged out into the public they are referred to as a predator, violent or a predicate offender. A sexual predator has once committed a sexually violent act and suffers from a mental condition that makes them likely to commit more acts. Similarly, a sexually violent offender is defined as an individual who has committed a sexually violent act. Then, a predicate sex offender is an individual who committed a sexual offense.
Register and Verification
Sexual offenders must be registered, and there information must be made public. The information they must have verified include their name, birthdate, gender and race. Then, there are their physical characteristics such as height, weight, the and the color of their eyes. Auxiliary information includes their driver’s license number, address and internet identity information. In addition, there must be an updated image of the offender as well as a set of their fingerprints on file. Depending on the convictions of the offender they will have to update their picture anywhere from every year to every three years. The offender will be notified between 30 and 60 days before they have to get their new picture taken. Additional information includes the crime they committed, the date of the crime, supervision details and where they work.
The amount of time an offender must verify their information depends on how serious their convictions are. For example, an offender who is not deemed a predator or has not committed a violent act will still have to register for twenty years from the time they first had to register their information. All sexual predators, violent offenders and predicate offenders must be registered for life. Furthermore, a predator must verify their information every 90 days.
Discharge and Relocation
When a sexual offender is released from care, the correctional facility or hospital has ten days to let the division know that the offender is being released, where they will be living and the details of any institution or place of employment where they will be enrolled at. If an offender is on parole or probation and decides to move they have to make sure their parole officer notifies the division within two days. Specifically, a form distributed by the division must be filled out by the parole officer. Similarly, the same goes for the offender when they change where they are working or enroll at a new educational institution. If an offender ever goes missing or escapes patrol then the officials where they reside or work must notify a law enforcement agency within twenty four hours.
Latest posts by Sam Hadfield (see all)
- 5 Tactics Sex Offenders Use To Get Close to Your Children - July 16, 2015
- An overview at what constitutes a sex offender and the different levels and types of offenses - August 20, 2013
- Top 10 States With Highest Rate of Sex Offenders in 2015 - July 30, 2013